Students from School District Five were selected for the SC American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) Honor Choir that was held on October 11 – 12 at Charleston Southern University (CSU). Students auditioned and were selected for the choir last spring.

There were two choirs for high school students and there were also two choirs for middle school students. School District Five had a total of 13 students participate.

Drew Meetze (Chapin High), Bryce Manley (Chapin High), Olivia Calhoun (Chapin High), Anselle Blackmon (Chapin High) Kyia Tucker (Chapin High), Natalie Kirkindoll (Chapin Middle), Christian Banks (Dutch Fork High), Maya Fanning (Dutch Fork High), Mackenzie McKey (Dutch Fork High), Mattie Mount (Dutch Fork High), Remaliah Smith (Irmo High), Kaynizha Steadman (Irmo High), and Hannah Vaughan (Irmo High).

Students had to prepare and learn their music ahead of time with their choral director in order to meet expectations before arriving. The event culminated with a public concert at CSU October 12.

“Being selected for the ACDA Honor Choir is a wonderful accomplishment for our students,” said Irmo High School Choral Director Franklin Turner. “These types of experiences reiterate many of the methods and performance practices that are taught in the classroom. This achievement also allows students to perform with chorus students who share a passion for the highest standard of choral music.”

Pictured from left to right: Geoffrey Gibbons (CMS Choir Director), Bryce Manley, Kyia Tucker, Olivia Calhoun, Anselle Blackmon, Drew Meetze, Nicholas Todd Shumate (CHS Choral Director)