H. E. Corley Elementary School teacher Brandi Floyd-Francis and 5th grader Rachel Gutierrez have been named the Irmo Chamber of Commerce’s Student and Teacher of the Month. “Rachel’s teacher describes her as an awesome leader who is involved in numerous leadership roles in our school including Safety Patrol and StudentContinue Reading

By Sarah Ostergaard Did you know that South Carolina offers free, public residential high schools focused on rigorous academics and professional achievement for students in any part of the state? These are called SC Governor’s Schools and there are three: the SC Governor’s School for Agriculture at John de laContinue Reading

School District Five induction teachers celebrated mid-year success during a December meeting with 2018 SC Teacher of the Year, Erin Fox. Fox challenged them as educators to make their classrooms come alive by incorporating physical movement to make learning stick.Continue Reading

Veteran law enforcement officer Ross Wise has been named Lead Safety Officer for School District Five. Ross has served as a safety officer since 2019. “I am thrilled for the opportunity to ensure that safety and security remain at the forefront of School District Five,” Wise said. “With this newContinue Reading

By Sarah Ostergaard A grade serves many purposes: feedback, evaluation, motivation, assessment, achievement, a systematic communication of ability, and a demonstration of subject mastery. Grades matter when applying to colleges and for scholarships. Understanding the underlying assumptions in grade calculations is therefore very important. Does an A mean mastery andContinue Reading

ECPI University has announced its inclusion in the 2022 Best for Vets: Employers list by Military Times. The Military Times Best for Vets employers rankings are based on the results of a voluntary survey that covers a company’s policies and practices for current employees and future job seekers within theContinue Reading

Students at Dutch Fork High School will have more opportunities to study conservation and environmental stewardship this year, thanks to a grant provided by the Richland Soil and Water Conservation District (RSWCD) through its Conservation Education Mini-Grant program. Dutch Fork High School received a $500 Mini-Grant for a greenhouse renovation.Continue Reading