District Five participating food program

School District Five is participating in the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) for the 2023-2024 school year.

Section 104(a) of the Healthy, Hunger Free Kids Act of 2010 amended section 11(a)(1) of the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 U.S.C. 1759a(a) (1) (the law) to provide an alternative to household applications for free and reduced-price meals in local educational agencies (LEAs) and schools with increased levels of low-income students. This alternative is referred to as the Community Eligibility Provision. All students enrolled in the schools listed below may participate in the breakfast and lunch program at no charge to them. Families will not have to fill out meal applications.

Participating CEP schools are as follows: CrossRoads Intermediate School, Dutch Fork Elementary School, Dutch Fork Middle School, H. E. Corley Elementary School, Harbison West Elementary School, Irmo Middle School, Irmo High School, Leaphart Elementary School, Oak Pointe Elementary School, Nursery Road Elementary School, Seven Oaks Elementary School.

Breakfast and lunch meals follow the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) guidelines for healthy school meals. Please encourage students to participate in the school meal programs.

You may contact Shana Catoe, Student Nutrition Coordinator for additional information.
Parents or guardians that do not want their child/children to participate in CEP may wish to discuss this matter with Shana Catoe on an informal basis.

Parents wishing to make a formal appeal may make a request either orally or in writing to Shana Catoe, whose address is: 1020 Dutch Fork Road, Irmo, SC 29063 for a hearing to appeal the decision.

Leave a Reply