District Five student-athletes named Heisman High School Scholarship recipients

The Heisman Trophy Trust announced the 2022 School Winners for the Heisman High School Scholarship and three Lexington-Richland School District Five students are recipients.

Veronica Cain (Chapin High), Nya Singletary (Irmo High), and Ethan von Ahn (Spring Hill High) were chosen from a pool of thousands of high school scholar-athletes graduating with the class of 2023 as School Winners in the Heisman High School Scholarship competition awarded by the Heisman Trophy Trust.

“I feel excited about being selected as the School Winner of the Heisman High School Scholarship,” Singletary said. “My hard work has paid off and I am thankful to represent Irmo High School.”

Nya Singletary

Ethan von Ahn said, “The Heisman name is synonymous with excellence and integrity so to have my name associated with this award is a great honor.”

Veronica Cain said “I am pleased to represent Chapin High for the Heisman High School Scholarship as the school winner! Glad to see that my hard work is paying off both in school and in the arena, and can’t wait to see where these opportunities will take me.”

Veronica Cain

School Winners will continue on for the chance to become State Winners, National Finalists or National Winners. State Winners receive a $1,000 college scholarship, National Finalists receive a $2,000 college scholarship and the male and female National Winners will each receive a $10,000 college scholarship.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is annually awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the nation. The Heisman High School Scholarship extends the Heisman prestige to our nation’s most esteemed high school seniors by recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholar-athletes who understand that the most important victories not only happen on the field but in their schools and communities. These remarkable young leaders set the example and make a game-changing difference every day, paving the way to greatness for everyone around them.

To apply, students must be graduating with the class of 2023, have a cumulative weighted high school grade point average of a B (3.0) or better, participate in at least one of the sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee, the Paralympic Games and/or the National Federation of State High School Association and be a leader in his/her school and community.

Feature photo: Ethan von Ahn