Nominees for Richland County High School Player of the Year – Football – Have Been Selected

The Richland County Recreation Commission is excited to announce the nominees for the 2022 Richland County High School Player of the Year–Football Award.

This prestigious award is presented annually to the top varsity high school senior football player in Richland County who demonstrates great character, sharp intellect, community involvement, as well as academic and athletic excellence. The selected winner of the award will receive a $2,000 scholarship, or a college education bundle, for his hard work and dedication on and off the field. The winner is selected by a panel of voters from local Columbia Media Outlets and the 17 head football coaches from each high school in Richland County.
RCRC will announce the finalists and winners during a banquet held in their honor on December 1, 2022, at 6:30 p.m. at 7494 Parklane Road, Columbia, SC 29223.

The guest speaker for the banquet, Airese Currie, graduated from Richland Northeast High School and played football for and graduated from Clemson University.

The 2022 Nominees are:

AC Flora, Markel Townsend, RB #28

Ben Lippen, Nathanael Cole, OL/DL #56

Blythewood, Livingston Weisinger, LB #22

CA Johnson, Nigel Leake, RB/LB #7

Cardinal Newman, AJ Reyes, RB/DB/LB #8

Columbia, DreVon Leonard, DL #40

Dreher, Micah Simonson, RB/DB #5

Dutch Fork, Jarvis Green, RB/QB/WR #4

Eau Claire, Rickie Murray, WR/DB #11

Hammond, Rucker Brannon, OLD/S #6

Heathwood Hall, John Nagy, C/OL #72

Keenan, Hernandez O’Neal, QB #12

Lower Richland, Mekhi Campfield, WR #2

Richland Northeast, Avonte Grant, RB/DB #2

Ridge View, Shamarr McQueen, OL #65

Spring Valley, Evan Javis, RB/LB #5

Westwood, Noah Jennings, WR/DB #2

Leave a Reply