SaveSC Slate takes Lexington County Republican Party Elections

Led by a robust organizing operation, conservative activists chalked up strong victories in the April 22nd Lexington County Republican Convention.

256 delegates participated in the biennial process which was presided over by State Rep. Jay Kilmartin (R-Chapin, Columbia, Irmo).

County Party Grassroots Director Pamela Godwin was elected by acclamation as Chairwoman after her lone opponent, Fmr. State Rep. Todd Atwater, withdrew from the race. State Executive Committeeman Lanneau Siegling rounded out the top of the ticket by being re-elected in a landslide fashion.

Allies Mark Weber, Richard Gehling and John Allen were elected 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice Chairmen, respectively. All candidates received over 70% of the vote and all 51 Delegate slots to the May 20 State Republican Convention were captured by the SaveSC slate.

“I am excited for our team to embark on a new journey in our Lexington County Republican Party,” Godwin said. She added, “We will continue to grow as a county party and step up the communication to the public.”

“We have a strong story to share about our accomplishments over the past two years and I am excited that we are now reflected in all countywide offices. We are putting South Carolina elected officials on notice: we urge Republicans to follow the Republican Party platform in their votes and actions.”

The Lexington County totals come as many counties around the state have produced similar results. The new leadership team’s two-year term will begin immediately and they will preside over the next meeting on Monday, May 1 at 7 pm at the Greater Lexington Chamber of Commerce.

The State GOP Convention will take place on Saturday, May 20 at River Bluff High School in Lexington at 9 am. At the state convention, Republicans from all 46 counties will elect state party leadership.

Leave a Reply