The National Beta members from Chapin High School and Dutch Fork High School are celebrating remarkable successes at the South Carolina Senior Division Beta State Convention held in Myrtle Beach. The Beta State Convention provides students with opportunities to compete in various academic and STEM-based, virtual, and performing arts competitions.Continue Reading

Students from Lexington-Richland School District Five achieved outstanding success at the South Carolina Dance Association (SCDA) Dance Team Championship. Held on February 17, 2024, at Irmo High School, the SCDA State Championship witnessed the participation of numerous students from Chapin Middle, Chapin High, Dutch Fork Middle, and Dutch Fork High,Continue Reading

Lynn Collins, a temporary school psychologist in School District Five, has been honored as a 2024 Outstanding Advocate by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) Government and Professional Relations Committee. Collins received this prestigious recognition at the NASP Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on February 15, 2024. Expressing herContinue Reading

Amy Umberger, the resident scientist at Dutch Fork Elementary Academy of Environmental Sciences, has been honored with the Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT). This award acknowledges Umberger’s exceptional contributions to stimulating interest in Earth Sciences at the pre-college level. Umberger, who teachesContinue Reading

Seven seniors from Lexington-Richland School District Five have been named candidates in the prestigious 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, marking one of the highest honors for the graduating class of 2024. The following students have been nominated: Damien Dedmond (Chapin High) Caroline Huang (Dutch Fork High) Ava McCarty (Spring HillContinue Reading

Christian Smith, a senior at Dutch Fork High School, achieved a significant milestone by earning a private pilot certification through a $25,000 scholarship sponsored by the Air Force JROTC (AFJROTC) headquarters. The accomplishment places him among the less than 1% of the population holding a private pilot license. Attending andContinue Reading

Five teachers from Lexington-Richland School District Five have achieved the prestigious National Board Certification (NBCT) this year, further enhancing the district’s standing with a total of 299 National Board Certified Teachers. National Board Certification is an advanced teaching credential that involves a comprehensive series of performance-based assessments. Teachers pursuing thisContinue Reading

Leaphart Elementary School STEAM Magnet and Spring Hill High School Career Pathways Magnet, both part of the Lexington-Richland School District Five, have received prestigious Merit Awards from Magnet Schools of America (MSA), the national association for magnet and theme-based schools. Leaphart Elementary School STEAM Magnet has been recognized as aContinue Reading

Kindergarten registration for the 2024-2025 school year in Lexington-Richland School District Five begins February 5. Registration will take place during regular school office hours, Monday through Friday, excluding school holidays. School District Five 4K Application Potential students must be 4 years old on or before September 1, 2024. Parents of children meeting this ageContinue Reading

Registration for the 4-year-old tuition-based pre-kindergarten program, EXCEL (Exposing Children to Early Learning), in Lexington-Richland School District Five at Irmo Elementary begins February 5. Enrollment will be on a first-come, first-served basis and will be limited to 20 students. All additional children will be placed on a waiting list forContinue Reading